قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / 6 smart Gmail tricks to reduce regret, frustration and spam

6 smart Gmail tricks to reduce regret, frustration and spam



  gmail

Gmail is much more to do under the surface.


Derek Poore / CNET

More than 1.5 billion people use Gmail to stay in touch with friends and family, to stay in touch with their colleagues and supervisors, and to send occasional grumpy cat memes. But with all those vacation photos, spreadsheets and animated gifs flying back and forth, mistakes will certainly occur, probably mistakes made.

If you ever accidentally sent pictures of Baby Yoda cat to your entire work team, or video of Cinderblock the fat cat to your significant other who is in the gym, you know what kind of regret you would want that you could hit Unsend. Fortunately Google also knows it, so the search company has added an option Undo to Gmail to reverse exactly those kinds of accidents.

But that's not all. Gmail is actually packed with hidden tricks to help you deal with all sorts of modern problems, from direct email regret to filtering spam ̵

1; and even a trick that helps you report other people's phones after yours has died.

For all kinds of situations that can go south with just one click, here are five ways Gmail can help you the next time you have an email to bind.

  http://www.cnet.com/ "height =" 110 "width =" 196


Now playing:
View this:

Tips and tricks for using Gmail



1:08

30 seconds to regret: Undoing Gmail messages

Almost everyone has found a typo after hitting sending . Or even worse, wished they could refrain from which blasphemy-laced missive they just fired into the heat of the moment. Fortunately, Gmail offers an undo feature, but there is a snag: there is a time limit to decide whether or not the email you just sent belongs to the world.

By default, Gmail gives you five seconds to take everything back, but you can increase it to 30 seconds to give your future self more time to correct an error.

First click on the gear icon in the top right corner and navigate to Settings> General . At the top of the list of settings you will find Undo sending: followed by a drop-down menu.

Change it from 5 to 10, 20 or 30 seconds and you are done. You now have much more time to change your mind by clicking on Undo on the banner that you see at the bottom of the screen after you send your message.

Unlimited aliases, sort of

Have you ever signed up for a newsletter to get a discount on a retail site, or did you get frustrated after you had to unsubscribe from all unwanted e-mail your streaming services send? There is a way to correct all that junk mail without having to create a completely different Gmail account.

By simply adding a + to the end of your username (but before the "@") you can make infinite variations on your Gmail address. For example username + junkmail@gmail.com sends email to your main address without giving it away to spammers. You can then filter messages with "username + junk mail" in your junk e-mail or trash folder, so you never have to delete them again.

  http://www.cnet.com/ "height =" 110 "width =" 196


Now playing:
View this:

Use the Gmail app to send confidential emails to send



2:22

This trick is not only useful for filtering unwanted e-mail – it allows you to create an infinite variety of e-mail addresses for all your different roles in life while allowing you a single login for all functions.

Do you use your personal e-mail address for your work? Create "username + work@gmail.com" to identify all work-related emails. Member of a book or car club? Use "username+club@gmail.com" to follow emails from other members. Active in your church? Format "username + church". You get the idea.

Use filters more creatively

Filters can do much more than just individual emails in categories. For example, if you create a filter that scans your inbox for the word & # 39; unsubscribe & # 39; and automatically sending these e-mails to your junk e-mail folder, all newsletters for which you have subscribed or not have been deleted.

  screen-shot-2019-08 -29-at-4-59-29-pm.png "data-original =" https://cnet1.cbsistatic.com/img/udRrUe667zdjHLo8jGplIoI-7Sg=/2019/08 / 29 / 16c29ec2-8c37-4954-9f74 -9302b2588c6b / screen-shot-2019/08/29-at-4-59-29-pm.png

A filter for & # 39; tracking number & # 39; collects tracking information for all your purchases in one specific folder. You can even create a filter to read all messages as & # 39; & # 39; so that you never have to worry about that little badge icon that tempts you to check your email every five minutes.

7 steps to a tidy inbox

1. Click on the gear icon and choose Settings .

2. Select Filters and blocked addresses tab.

3. Click on Create new filter.

4. Enter keywords in relevant field: From to filter by sender Has the words to send full emails to scan, etc.

5. Click on Create filter .

6. Decide what you want to do with the filtered mail: Delete Skip the inbox (archiveer) Mark as read Important etc.

7. Click on Create filter .

Send SMS messages from Gmail instead

You do not need a phone with a data or WiFi connection to send an SMS message – Gmail can arrange it for you from your desktop.

The only thing you need to know is the telephone number and provider of the recipient. To send them an SMS, set up an email with their 10-digit phone number (no dashes) as their provider's username and gateway address (available on provider's websites) as the domain in the field "until".

  empty battery "data-original =" https://cnet1.cbsistatic.com/img/acFqSqomK5UgcCUYlGAd8m2GPxI=/2017/09/06/c892a2ed-3a61-49de-9f18-1fd9d5b814a6/dead-battery.jpg cialis196590 battery

Dead phone? You can still text & # 39; and from Gmail. Sarah Tew / CNET

For example, an email-based text to a Verizon customer looks like 0123456789@vtext.com. Other common domains are @ mms.att.net for AT&T, @ messaging.sprintpcs.com for Sprint and @ tmomail.net for T-Mobile.

Forgotten logout? Remote logout

If you frequently check your Gmail from a public computer, such as a library or school, you may occasionally forget to log out of your account, leaving you vulnerable to attacks. Accessing your password-protected Gmail account can be anything an identity thief needs to gain control of your bank accounts, credit cards and, if you have smart home devices such as smart locks or security cameras, your home itself.

  screen-shot-2019-08-29-at-4-42-25-pm.png "data-original =" https://cnet1.cbsistatic.com/img/gS80s0eyukiDW6jslBTpuGmm3b0=/2019/08/29 /5ba922b5-da8d-4f6f-88d6-1a0e0cae4f7f/screen-shot-2019-08-29-at-4-42-25-pm.pngorders19659031____isure19459092 ++screen-shot-2019-08-29-at- 4-42 -25-pm.png

The link to Details is located at the bottom of the Gmail page, just below "Last Account Activity"


Screenshot by Dale Smith / CNET

Fortunately, you can use Gmail to view and log out all computers or devices that you are currently logged in to. Simply browse to the bottom of your Gmail page and click on Details (the link is directly below the message with the text Last account activity ). A page appears that shows where you are currently logged in. If you click on the button at the top labeled Log out of all other Gmail web sessions you log out of every session except the one you are currently in.

There are many other ways to adjust Gmail to the way you work. View our guide to 15 Gmail shortcuts that you didn't know you needed for more.

Originally published last summer and periodically updated.


Source link