قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / Are unused accounts piling up? Here's how to delete a user on a Mac

Are unused accounts piling up? Here's how to delete a user on a Mac



If you have an account on your Mac that is no longer being used and is taking up valuable disk space, you can delete it in just a few steps. Our guide walks you through everything you need to do to quickly and easily delete a user on a Mac.

There are plenty of other changes you can make to your Mac user accounts – if you want to change your username or Mac use your account with Screen Time, we've got you covered.

Step 1: Make sure you have administrator access

  Deleting a user on a Mac

To delete a user on a Mac, you must have administrator access. You must be logged in to the administrator account and know the administrator username and password to delete a user. You should also make sure that you are not logged in to the account you want to delete – if you want to delete an administrator account, you must create another administrator account and log in first.

Step 2: Enter the Administrator Password in System Preferences

  Delete a User on a Mac

Now that you are ready to go, click on the Apple icon in the top left corner of your screen and then System Preferences> Users & Groups .

Once you are in the Users & Groups panel, click the padlock in the bottom left corner and enter the administrator username and password. This prevents unauthorized changes to user accounts.

Step 3: Delete the unwanted account

  How to delete a user on a Mac

To delete the unwanted account, click the account name in the users list and then click the minus sign at the bottom of the window . You will now be presented with a few options, which we will discuss below.

  • Save the home folder to a disk image: If you think you may want to restore the user account later, this is an option you can choose. It archives all of the user's documents and information so they can resume where they left off if their account is later restored. The disk image of their files is stored in / Users / Deleted Users / .
  • Do not change the home folder: This removes the user account from the login screen, but most other things remain in place. Their home folder remains in / Users / and you can restore their account later if you wish.
  • Delete Home Folder: This will completely delete the user's home folder and all their information and documents, freeing up space. If you want to restore their account you have to reset it.

When you have made your choice, click on Done .

Step 4: Remove the guest user option

  Remove a user on a Mac

A guest user may be enabled on your Mac. This allows people to log in without a password, although they cannot change system or user settings and their files are deleted when they log out.

To delete the guest user account on your Mac, follow steps 1 to 3 above, but instead of clicking on a named user, click the Guest User item in the left column.

Now uncheck the box Allow guests to log in to this computer . This disables the guest user account. You can also switch whether guest users can connect to shared folders on your Mac – this can be turned on or off, regardless of whether you allow guest users to sign in.

Editor's Recommendations





Source link