While most of our WhatsApp conversations are with friends and families, we also often use it to talk to people we don̵
WhatsApp offers a self-destruct mode for chats. When you turn this on for a particular group or private conversation, the messages are automatically deleted from your phone and the recipient’s after a week. Here’s how to access it.
First, make sure you have the latest version of WhatsApp on your phone from the Play Store on an Android device and the App Store on an iPhone.
Now open the “WhatsApp” app on your iPhone or Android device and enter the group or private chat you want to set up for self-destruct in the “Chats” tab.
Tap the recipient or group name at the top of the conversation to visit their profile page.
Select ‘Disappearing messages’.
Note: In a group, only administrators have the right to edit this setting.
Toggle the “On” option to enable disappearing messages for this chat.
Now any text or media sent by you or the other person in this conversation will be deleted after a week. At the time of writing, there is no way to adjust the time period.
However, messages exchanged before this change are not affected. You can turn off the disappearing messages feature by returning to the same option.
When enabled, WhatsApp will notify the recipient and add a small clock icon to the chat thumbnail.
However, keep in mind that this will not prevent chat members from taking a screenshot of the conversations or backing up the media elsewhere. In addition, the option to export the chat is still available.
That’s why WhatsApp’s self-destruct mode is strictly only for periodically clearing your inbox of unnecessary messages, not for private and confidential conversations.
For sensitive conversations that you want to immediately wipe from your phone, try privacy-focused messaging services like Signal.