قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / Back up your Google Photo & # 39; s library now that Google Drive automatic sync has been completed

Back up your Google Photo & # 39; s library now that Google Drive automatic sync has been completed



Since Google Photos and its unlimited high-quality cloud storage have arrived, Google has added a handy backup method to your Google Drive. As long as you had turned the Google Drive switch in the Google Photo & # 39; s settings (and enough space in your Drive), everything that was added to Google Photo & # 39; s was synced back with Google Drive, giving you a personal library with photos in their original quality. [19659002] That is changing from 10 July. Google says Drive synchronization caused confusion among users, so Photos no longer include an option to synchronize with Google Drive. You can still backup your photos in the original quality if you want, but you won't see any new photos appearing on your Drive. Similarly, everything you add to the Photos & # 39; s folder in Google Drive is no longer automatically displayed in Google Photos.

So it will take some work to make a continuous backup of your photos. This is what changes and what your options are for backing up:

Google Drive

Storage

As before, Google saves high quality photos & # 39; s and videos & # 39; s for free in Photos & # 39; s so that they do not affect the space in your Google Drive. However, if you choose original quality, Google Photos uses part of the space in your Google Drive to save your library, although you cannot see or open the photos. Every photo or video that is in both places takes up twice as much space.

  google photos drive sync IDG

The photos in your Google Photos folder in Google Drive will not be deleted, but new ones will no longer be added.

Folder with photos & # 39; s

If you have previously chosen to use Google Drive to back up your Google photos & # 39; s, you can no longer do that. All photos & # 39; s that are synchronized until the time that Google disabled the functionality remain in your folder. You can do whatever you want, but photos deleted from Google Drive will no longer be deleted from Photos.

Upload from Drive

Google has added a new feature to Google Photos called Upload from Drive. Just like the & # 39; Upload & # 39; and the drag and drop method, you can select photos & videos & # 39; s directly from your Google Drive and import them into Photos & # 39; s. Once something is uploaded to Google Photos, it will live in two places and take up twice as much storage space. And if you delete a photo from one location, the other remains.

Backup and synchronization

For years, Google has provided a Backup and synchronization app for Mac & # 39; s and PC & # 39; s that lets you easily take photos & # 39; s and video & # 39; s from your synchronize your desktop to your Google Drive or Google Photos. It's not a two-way traffic like the current Google Photos-Google Drive integration – meaning you have to upload photos & videos to both places – but you can choose individual folders to sync automatically once you have your PC boot up. All new images and videos on your PC are available via Google Drive.

Download a photo archive

If you want to be sure that you have a backup of your photos in addition to those on Google Photos, you can still download a full copy of your Google Photos & # 39; s archive. It is not as fast or seamless as the Google Drive synchronization, but it is sufficient.

  google photos backup IDG

To make a backup of your entire Google Photos library, you must first download an archive.

To get started, go to the Data & personalization tab in your Google account, scroll down and select Download your data . There are quite a few categories to choose from, but you want to deselect them all and search for Google Photos. Select the check box and then scroll to Next step . On the next screen you can choose the delivery method, file type and archive size, as well as how often you want to receive a copy of your archive. Then select Create archive to generate your library.

It may take some time to deliver, depending on the size of your library, and then longer to download once it is ready. But your photos are neatly arranged in folders by date, so that they can then be uploaded to Google Drive or stored on an external drive, depending on your preference.

Note: when you buy something after you click on links in our items, we can earn a small commission. Read our policy for connected links for more information.

Source link