قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / Delete data and free up space in Google Drive

Delete data and free up space in Google Drive



Google Drive logo

It’s easy to run out of space on Google Drive as it stores data in a large portion of your Google account. Fortunately, it is also easy to delete data and free up space. Here’s how to do it.

If you use Google Drive to share large files, it is quite easy to hit the 1

5 GB free data limit on your Google account. While you can upgrade your Google One account for more storage, it’s best to try first to see if you can delete some data and free up space in Google Drive.

Don’t worry, you don’t have to spend hours combing through every nook and cranny in Google Drive. The website has a storage manager feature that lists all of your files and sorts them based on their file size (the heavier ones go at the top.).

Open the Google Drive website in your browser to get started.

You will see the ‘Storage’ section at the bottom of the left sidebar. It shows how much storage space you have left in your account. Click on the “Storage” button.

In the Google Drive sidebar, choose it

You will now see a list of all large files in your account. Just click on a file to select it. To select multiple files, hold down the Command / Control key while selecting the file.

To delete the file (or files), click the Delete button in the top toolbar (it looks like a trash can icon).

Select the files you want to delete and click the Delete button (looks like a trash can).

Google Drive will immediately delete the file and send it to the trash.

To find and open a folder where a particular file is stored (to find more files to delete), right-click and choose the “View file location” option.

To find the location of a file, click

Here you can select multiple files and use the Delete (trash can) icon in the toolbar to delete all files together. (You can also delete entire folders this way.)

If you do not have a backup of the file you want to delete, click the “Download” button in the right-click menu to download a copy of the file to your local storage.

Click

Once you delete files in this way, you will realize that even though the files are no longer available in Google Drive, you have not recovered any storage space either. That’s because Google Drive doesn’t actually delete the files for 30 days. If you change your mind, you have up to 30 days to easily recover the data.

If you want to reclaim the storage space immediately, you need to force Google Drive to delete the data permanently. To do this, go to the “Recycle Bin” or “Recycle Bin” (depending on your region) section in the sidebar.

Go to it

In the trash can you will see a list of files that have yet to be deleted. To delete a file individually, right-click and choose the “Delete forever” option. To speed things up, click “Empty Recycle Bin” to delete all files at once.

To delete all data in the recycle bin, click on the

Confirm in the popup that appears with the “Delete Forever” button.

Click

All files will be deleted. After reloading the page, you will see that the storage space has been restored.

Now that you have deleted large and unnecessary files in Google Drive, consider organizing your Google Drive folders so that you can save time in the future. Good luck!

RELATED: How to organize your Google Drive




Source link