With a focus on privacy, you may not want those you interact with on Signal to know you’ve looked at their text message. Fortunately, you can turn off read receipts and turn off the indicator that shows you’ve seen their communication.
Read receipts, a popular feature in other messaging apps such as WhatsApp and iMessage, appear as white indicator bubbles on messages you send in Signal. If you turn off read receipts and block the person on the other end from seeing that you̵
Start by opening the “Signal” app on your iPhone or Android smartphone.
Then tap your profile picture, avatar or username initials in the top left corner of the app.
Select the “Privacy” option from the “Settings” menu.
Finally, disable (or enable) the “Read receipts” setting.
As seen below, read receipts in Signal fill both check marks with a solid white color when the message is received and read. If the read receipts are turned off, the bubbles are empty, but the check marks indicate that the message has been delivered.
The recipient will see the same type of indication on text messages they send. Neither you nor the person you are communicating with will be able to see if a message has been viewed when you turn off read receipts.
RELATED: Enable (or disable) link previews in Signal