Facebook has released a new privacy feature on Tuesday with the name. The tool allows you to view and manage data that apps and websites share with the platform and you can monitor the type of information that third-party apps can access.
With the new privacy feature you can erase the history of apps and websites that have shared your data. You can also disable future off-Facebook activities, which will ask Facebook to disconnect all information that the company has shared from your account. Or you can selectively choose which companies you want to stop sharing your activity with and it will stop displaying those targeted ads.
This gives you more control over your Facebook privacy.
How the Off-Facebook activity tool works
With Facebook's business tools you can see which information apps and websites have sent to Facebook. From there you can delete the information from your account and disable future "off-Facebook activity" from your account. You can manage this for all apps and websites so that they can no longer share your search activities with Facebook.
To start, go to Settings > Your Facebook information > Off-Facebook activity . From there you can manage your Off-Facebook activity, delete all history and disable all future activities for your account.
What happens when you disable activity managed by Off-Facebook
Once you delete the activity managed by the tool, Facebook removes your identification data that the apps and websites share. This means that Facebook does not know which websites you have visited or what you have looked at, so that you do not see targeted advertisements from those sites.
However, as the Washington Post indicates, your data is not deleted, it is only anonymized.
What else you can do
To determine which ads you see or don't see on Facebook, go to your Settings on your phone or desktop and select Advertising Preferences .
Among advertisers and companies, you can see which advertisers have run ads using a list that has been uploaded to Facebook with your information. For now you can choose to hide ads from one of the advertisers.
You can also go to Ad settings and turn off ads based on partner data, ads based on your activity on Facebook Company Products that you see elsewhere, and ads that include your social promotions. If you do this, however, no data will be deleted and you will still see the same number of ads as before. The off-Facebook activity function is the best way to delete your data.
Originally published last year. Updated to add the privacy feature is available.