قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / Grant temporary permissions to apps on Android

Grant temporary permissions to apps on Android



Grant one-time permissions on Android 11
Shubham Agarwal

We often install apps that we don̵

7;t want to open more than a few times. Do not allow such apps to permanently access your phone’s data. With Android, you can provide one-time permissions so that apps that are inactive cannot track you.

Temporary permissions, available for devices running Android 11 and newer, can be applied for sensitive permissions such as the camera and GPS.

If your phone has an older version of Android, you can take advantage of a third-party paid app called Bouncer to set up one-time permissions. Here’s how to use them.

Grant temporary permissions on Android

When you first start an app on Android and ask it for access, the permission window has three options. Select “This time only” to approve a temporary permission. This means that once you exit that app, Android will automatically revoke it and the app will prompt you for it again the next time you open it.

Grant one-time consent on Android 11

To enable one-time permissions for existing apps, navigate to Settings app> Apps & notifications> View all apps.

Navigate to the list of all apps in Android settings

Find the app whose permissions you want to edit.

Go to ‘Permissions’ and choose the permission the app should ask for every time you use it, such as ‘Microphone’ or ‘Camera’.

Navigate to app permissions in the Android settings

Enable the ‘Ask every time’ setting here.

Select

Grant temporary permissions on Android with Bouncer

Once you’ve installed the Bouncer app on your Android phone or tablet, launch it and follow the onscreen instructions to configure the service.

Whenever you grant permission, Bouncer sends you a notification asking whether you want to keep or delete it. If you need the permission for a few moments, such as when you’re trying to stop an Uber and don’t mind the app reading your GPS data, you can click the ‘Schedule’ button in the notification, which instructs Bouncer to then withdraw it for a specified period of time.

Bouncer Android app consent notification

Bouncer remembers your habits by default. So when you ask the app to remove or keep permission for an app, it will automatically repeat the action next time. For example, if you always revoke Uber’s location access, Bouncer will do it itself after the first time.

Grant temporary permissions on Android with the Bouncer app

If this feature is not available by default, you can enable it manually by tapping the gear icon in the top right corner of the Bouncer app and enabling the “Auto-delete” option.

Set automatic permissions removals on the Android app




Source link