قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How iPhone apps always ask for location access

How iPhone apps always ask for location access



  The Find My app requires location access on an iPhone with iOS 13.
Konstantin Savusia / Shutterstock.com

It is time to review the location rights of your iPhone. Now you don't have to give apps permanent access to your location: you can only grant access once and request permission each time an app wants your location.

A new privacy option for your location

Before iOS 1

3 for iPhones and the new iPadOS for iPads, you only had three choices when an app wanted access to your location: never, during use and always.

The "During use" option is a good compromise so that apps can display maps and use your location while you use them. Unlike apps with "Always" permission, they don't have access to your background location.

There is another problem here: once you give an app access to your location, that app can access your location over and over again if you use it in the future. What if you only want to retrieve a map once in an app without giving it permanent access to your location?

Now you can force apps to ask next time

 The Allow once option for the Yelp location on an iPhone.

Now there is another compromise option: "Allow Once", also known as "Ask Next Time". When an app wants access to your location, you can simply give it access to your location. this time and force him to ask next time by tapping the "Allow Once" option. You decide how much the app has access to your location.

This change is part of iOS 13 for iPhones and the new iPadOS for iPads. As the new Bluetooth authorization apps ask, this change can help protect the privacy of your physical location. It is up to you whether you want to reveal it to apps.

In order to accomplish such a thing, in the past you had to allow location access for an app and then immediately browse and revoke the Settings app.

RELATED: Why iPhone and iPad apps ask to use Bluetooth

When you may want to do this

Many apps ask for access to your location, but these are not necessary always need it. For example, a store's app can request location access when you pick up a map of nearby locations. In the past you had to use & # 39; During use & # 39; to grant this access, but the app would have as much access to your location as you wanted while using the app. This data can then be used to track your store preferences and to target advertisements.

With this new option you can only give your location access once.

Do you have to always request location access for each app you use? Probably not. Some apps only need your location – you may want to give Uber or Lyft access to your location every time you use it for a ride.

On the other hand, if you just app your location once to access a specific function, & # 39; Allow once & # 39; a smart option to start with. If you find yourself using the app's location permissions a lot, you can allow & # 39; while using the app & # 39; and avoid the prompts.

Force previously installed apps to request

If you have previously given an app access to your location – or denied – you will not see this prompt. However, you can still select the "Ask Next Time" option for all your installed iPhone or iPad apps.

To do this, go to Settings> Privacy> Location services. You see a list of apps and their location permission settings.

 An iPhone location services screen with various Google apps set to During use, Questions and Always.

Tap the name of an app here to change the location permissions. You can then ask & # 39; Next time & # 39; Selecting.

This option is available for all apps. App developers cannot prevent you from selecting it for their apps.

 iPhone location permissions show the Yelp app set to Ask Next Time.

By the way, if you select "Ask Next Time" & then refuse access to your location. The app's access to your location is set to & # 39; Never & # 39; and no longer has access to your location. This prevents an app bombarding you with location requests. You can still go to the Settings app and reset it to "Ask Next Time".


Source link