قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How to add a traffic report with Google Maps

How to add a traffic report with Google Maps



Google Maps logo

Traffic reports in Google Maps help you quickly determine whether the route you are taking is busy or not. If you are a passenger on the road, you can update Google Maps by adding your own traffic reports. Here’s how.

These instructions work for all mobile users with the Google Maps app on Android and iPhone. However, it is important to only attempt this if it is safe or else you will endanger other road users. This function is suitable, for example, for a passenger in a vehicle.

To start, open the “Google Maps”

; app and search for directions using the search bar at the top of the screen. Once you are in navigation mode, tap the route information at the bottom of the interface, which includes estimated time of arrival, distance and arrival times.

Tap the route information (with ETAs) at the bottom of the Google Maps navigation interface

This will open a menu with additional options, including the ability to view written directions and view a satellite map.

To add a new traffic report, tap the “Add a report” option at the top of the menu.

From the additional options menu for Google Maps route navigation, tap the

There are several live traffic events available that you can report using the “Add Report” feature.

For example, if you are stuck in traffic, you can select the “Congestion” option. If a lane on the highway is closed, you can also choose to select the option “Lane closure”. Tapping any of these options will add that warning to your current location.

Click any of the available traffic report options to add it to your location in Google Maps

These options vary in name and availability depending on your locale.

For example, US users will see “Speed ​​Trap” as an option to warn other users about police speed traps, while UK users will see “Mobile Speed ​​Camera” instead.

If you accidentally added a report, you have a few seconds to undo it before the report is added to Google Maps. At this point, tap “Undo” if you accidentally added a report.

Crane

Once a few seconds have passed, the report will be added to Google Maps for other users to view. When other users pass the same area, a warning will appear to notify them of the outage, as long as the user has not disabled Google Maps traffic alerts.

RELATED: How to turn off Android traffic notifications




Source link