By default, you are the owner of any file you upload or create on Google Drive. However, if you want to transfer ownership of a file to someone else, it’s a straightforward process. Here’s how.
Before we go any further, keep in mind that once you transfer ownership of a file to someone else, you cannot revoke the changes yourself. The new owner can even remove you from the file altogether at any time. In addition, you cannot delete the file or share it with anyone else.
Personal Google accounts can transfer ownership of the following Google Drive file types:
- Google documents
- Google Slides
- Google Forms
- Google Sheets
- Google My Maps
- Google Drawings
To change ownership of a file, you must first share the file with the person you want to transfer it to.
RELATED: Create shareable download links for files on Google Drive
For this guide, we̵
Fire up your browser and go to your Google Drive homepage. Then navigate to the file you want to transfer ownership of, right-click on it and select ‘Share’.
If you haven’t shared the file with someone yet, you can add someone from the “Share” settings window that appears. Just type their email address in the “Add people and groups” text box.
Once a valid email address is added, the window changes to allow you to change the recipient’s permission level (Editor, Commentator, or Viewer), notify the person that the file has been shared with them, and the option to add a message. add. When you are done, click on the “Submit” button.
The Share window may close after the document is shared. If this happens, right click on the file again and choose the “Share” option.
You will now see a list of accounts the document has been shared with (including your own email address). Click the drop-down list that corresponds to the person you are transferring ownership to, then select “Make Owner” from the list displayed.
Before transferring ownership of the file, Google Drive will ask you one last chance to change your mind. Google warns you because you cannot undo this action afterwards. Click on “Yes” to continue.
Note: If you change ownership of a folder, only the folder (not any of the files in it) is transferred to the new person.
After you transfer ownership, the new owner will receive an email with the change.
That’s all there is to it. Unless the new owner decides to change your access, you can still edit the file for which you transferred ownership.
RELATED: How to Export Your Google Drive Files