When you close Microsoft Teams, it continues to run in the background, consuming resources and sending you notifications. But if you change a single setting, it will actually be stopped by closing the application. Here̵
When you close an app, you generally expect it to stop, not live in the background, and tacitly take up precious CPU cycles, memory, and bandwidth. Sure, some apps, like OneDrive, Dropbox, or your antivirus, are generally “always on”, but running all the time is part of the point of such apps having to check things out.
But if you close Microsoft Teams, it will continue to run in the background by default so it can send you notifications. To shut it down completely, you need to close it in the system tray or through Task Manager (on Windows) or the Activity Monitor (on a Mac).
However, there is a simple setting you can change to force Teams to quit completely when you normally close the app.
In the Microsoft Teams app, click on your profile picture and select ‘Settings’.
In the General tab, scroll down to the “Application” section and uncheck the “When closing, keep application running” option.
There is no need to save or restart the app. Once you uncheck that box, the Microsoft Teams app will close completely when you specify it.