Do you have an old project on GitHub that is no longer active or needed? Deleting old repositories (repositories) will clean your account from potential future employers looking at your code. Here’s how it should be done.
What to know before deleting a GitHub repository
You can delete a repository at any time if you are the owner of the organization or have administrative rights. When a repository is deleted, you can sometimes restore it under certain conditions. However, there are still some serious consequences associated with deleting a repository, even if you manage to restore it.
Deleting a private repository will also delete all forks (online copies) from that repo. However, if you delete a public repository, the forks will remain.
Note: If a repository is public and is later changed to private, the forks created when the repository was public will not be deleted. You decide whether you want the repo to be public or private when you create the repo, so keep in mind that some public information may still hang even if you switch the repo to private and later delete it.
Deleting a repository also removes all associated issues, attachments, team permissions, and comments. If you think you will need to reference some of this material in the future, please do not delete the repository as it cannot be undone.
RELATED: How (and why) to create a GitHub repository
How to delete a GitHub repository
Select the “Settings” button under the repo analysis.
Now scroll to the bottom of the Settings page until you see the Danger zone section. Click on ‘Delete this repository’.
A pop-up message will appear warning you that the action is permanent and asking you to enter the repository name to confirm. Read the warning carefully, type your repo name in the text box, then click “I understand the implications, delete this repository.”
The GitHub repository will be deleted.