قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How to delete your Signal account

How to delete your Signal account



signal logo

Signal is one of the few popular messaging apps that offers end-to-end encryption. While the service is great it may not be for everyone. If you want to say goodbye, here’s how to delete your Signal account.

While Signal does a pretty good job when it comes to privacy, no app is completely secure. Since Signal is based on phone numbers, anyone with your phone number can look you up when you use Signal. This can pose a privacy risk across the board.

RELATED: What is signal and why is everyone using it?

Fortunately, Signal makes it quite easy to delete your account in both the Android and iPhone app.

Deleting your Signal account will also delete any data associated with it. This includes all chat messages, media, contacts and associated data. If you log in again with the same number, you will start with a blank slate. If you have sensitive data in Signal, we recommend that you export it before starting the removal process.

How to Delete Your Signal Account on Android

Open the Signal app on your Android smartphone to get started. Next, tap on your profile icon in the top left corner.

Then choose the option “Advanced”.

Now tap on the “Delete Account” button.

Here you have to confirm your account by entering your phone number and choosing your country. Finally, tap on the “Delete Account” button.

In the pop-up, choose the link “Delete account” to confirm your action.

Your Signal account will be deleted and the app will be closed. You can now delete the app from your Android smartphone if you wish.

How to Delete Your Signal Account on iPhone

Open the Signal app on your iPhone and tap your profile icon in the top left corner.

Select the option “Advanced” here.

Now tap on the red “Delete account” button.

In the pop-up message, select “Continue” to confirm.

Signal will start the account deletion process in the background and when it’s done, the Signal app will be disabled. When you reopen the app, it will be empty.

You can now delete the app from your iPhone or reuse it with a different number or identity.

RELATED: Delete apps on an iPhone or iPad with iOS 13




Source link