You must provide your phone number to sign up for Telegram. That̵
You can add users in Telegram in two ways: First, by using their phone numbers (by adding them manually or by sharing your contact book), or by using unique usernames (similar to Twitter).
If you and your contacts use the username system, you can actually continue to use Telegram (join groups, subscribe to channels, and more) without ever sharing your phone number. To do this, you just need to disable a setting.
RELATED: How to Search and Join Telegram Channels
Hide your phone number in Telegram on Android
You can hide your phone number in Telegram by switching to a setting other than the Android app. First, open the Telegram app on your Android smartphone and tap the three-line menu icon in the top left corner.
Select the “Settings” option.
Now go to the “Privacy and Security” section.
Select the “Phone number” option here.
In the ‘Who can see my phone number’ section, you can see that the default option is ‘Everyone’. If you only want to show your number to your contacts, switch to the “My contacts” option.
If you do not want to show the phone number to anyone, select the “No one” option.
After choosing the ‘No one’ option, you will see a new section called ‘Who can find me on my number’. To be extra safe, you must change this setting in the “My contacts” option.
This ensures that only users in your contact book can look you up on Telegram. No one else can find you or even see your phone number.
When you’re done, tap the check mark in the top right corner to save your settings.
Hide your phone number in Telegram on iPhone
The process is slightly different in Telegram for iPhone. Open the Telegram app and go to the “Settings” tab.
Choose the option “Privacy and Security”.
Now go to the “Phone number” section.
Here you will see the ‘Who can see my phone number’ section. You can switch to “My Contacts” if you only want to show your phone number to users who are in your contact book (and hide it from everyone else).
If you want to hide it from everyone, tap the “Nobody” option.
If you choose this option, you will see a new section called ‘Who can find me by my number’. The default setting is the option “My contacts”. In this mode, users who have your number in their contact book will only see your phone number if they are in your contact list.
If you want someone who saved your number to the contact list to see it on Telegram, you can switch to the “Everyone” option.
Now that you’ve hidden your phone number from your contacts, you can go one step further and stop sharing your contacts with Telegram. This ensures that the phone number is no longer involved in communication between all your contacts (you can use usernames to add users.).
RELATED: How to use Telegram without sharing your contacts