قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How to Make Your Venmo Friends List Private

How to Make Your Venmo Friends List Private



Tada Images/Shutterstock.com

Everyone on Venmo can see your friends list by default. However, you can make your friends list private through the Venmo app. You can also prevent your Facebook friends and phone contacts from finding you.

Yes, everyone can see your friends list

Venmo isn̵

7;t just a money-sending app, it’s a “social network.” By default, anyone can see your friends list and all the transactions you send. That makes it a better social network, right? So why would you want to hide your friends list?

Fortunately, from June 2021, Venmo now offers more privacy settings and you can finally hide your friends list, if you want. However, everyone’s friends list is public by default. If you don’t change this setting, everyone will be able to see your friends list.

How To Make Your Friends List Private

To get started, launch the Venmo app on your iPhone or Android phone.

Open the Venmo app and go to the home screen. Tap the menu icon in the top right corner.

Venmo Home Screen

Tap “Settings” at the bottom of the menu screen.

Tap Privacy, then tap Friends List at the bottom of the screen.

If you don’t see the Friends List option under ‘More’, try updating the app from the App Store (on iPhone) or Google Play (on Android).

Venmo Privacy Menu

On the Friends List screen, choose the “Private” option. Make sure there is a blue check mark or blue circle next to the “Private” option. This means that the option is selected.

Venmo friend list set to private

You can also decide if you want to appear on other’s friend lists. By default, this switch is green, indicating that you will appear on other people’s friends lists.

If you don’t want to appear in someone’s friends list, tap the toggle switch so that the circle is gray and to the left.

Venmo does not appear in other users friend list vrienden

Go private from Facebook and phone contacts

Because Venmo wants to be a social network, it wants you to automatically add your Facebook friends and phone contacts. If you don’t want to be found by your Facebook friends or phone contacts, here’s what you can do:

Open the Venmo app and go to the home screen. Tap the menu icon in the top right corner.

Venmo Home Screen

Tap “Settings” at the bottom of the screen.

Tap “Friends & Social” at the bottom of the screen. Then tap all the toggle switches next to “Facebook,” “Facebook Friends,” and “Phone Contacts.” The switches will turn gray to indicate that the options are disabled.

Venmo friends and social menu

Depending on how you signed up with Venmo, you may not have all three options. If you find yourself still being found through Facebook or your phone contacts, please contact Venmo support.

That’s all! Now you can rest easy knowing that your Venmo friends are private. You may also want to make your Venmo transactions private.




Source link