قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How to password protect your Google search history

How to password protect your Google search history



Google logo.

It’s no secret that Google tracks your activity across its products, but you do have some control over your information. This data can be automatically erased and it can be placed behind a password to protect it from prying eyes.

Your Google activity can be accessed at activity.google.com. Everything you do with Google products is recorded here, unless you turn off tracking. Google searches, Google Assistant commands, Google Maps locations, YouTube history ̵

1; it’s all there.

That’s clearly a lot very personal information, and it’s easily accessible to anyone who visits the page on a device where you’re signed in to your Google account. Fortunately, it can be password protected.

RELATED: How to see (and delete) what data Google has about you

To get started, visit the activity.google.com page in a web browser such as Google Chrome. Make sure you are signed in to your Google account.

Google's My Activity page.

Then click on ‘Manage My Activity Verification’.

Click

A pop-up message will appear with two options. Select “Require additional authentication” and click “Save”.

Select

You will be asked to sign in to your Google account again to verify that it is you.

Sign in to your Google account and click

That’s all. You will now notice that the information on the page is hidden. You or anyone else opening the page has to click the “Verify” button to see anything.

Click on the

The Google account login page will reappear and if your password and two-factor authentication are entered correctly, your activity and Google search history will be revealed.

Sign in to your Google account and click

This sounds like a nice security method, but there is one major flaw in this system that you should be aware of. If your browser has saved your Google account password (or if you use a password manager), it will be filled in automatically for you and anyone who tries to access your activity.

As such, the “Verify” step won’t do much if your browser is going to give the person your password. It’s something to keep in mind.

RELATED: How to get Google to automatically delete your web and location history




Source link