My Instagram profile probably reveals more personal information about me than any other social network page. As a result, I started to get creepy after I realized how many people were following me that I actually didn't know.
Locking your privacy on Instagram can be as simple as setting your profile to & # 39; private & # 39 ;. But you can become much more grainy than that, and there is a range of other protections that you can set. You can keep your account public, but make it a little more secure, or even add stricter protections than just switching the private profile switch.
If you want to keep your account really safe, you can do the following. [1
Setting your account to private is the easiest thing you can do to lock your profile. It means that in the future no one can see your photos & stories unless you approve them.
Once your account is private, new people visiting your profile will only see your name and profile image. From there they can ask to follow you, and you must confirm their request before they can see your photos or stories.
To set your account to private, follow these steps:
- Go to the settings menu of Instagram. It is hidden on your profile page behind the hamburger button in the top right corner. This opens a side menu with various choices; you can access your settings via the gear that appears at the very bottom.
- From there, go to "Privacy"> "Account Privacy" and activate the "Private Account" setting.
An important reservation: anyone who already follows you when you change your account to private will continue to follow you. This means that if there is someone to whom you want to refuse access, you must remove it from your list of followers.
To delete someone following you:
- Go to your profile and tap your number of followers
- Scroll through your list and tap the large button & # 39; Delete & # 39; next to the name of everyone you want to lose
Protect your stories
With Instagram you can limit who sees your stories (the role with images that disappear after 24 hours) and prevent people from sharing them further.
To hide your story from specific people:
- Go to "Settings"> "Privacy"> "Story"
- Select "Hide story for". A list of your followers will be opened. Tap the circle next to their name to close the access.
You can also prevent people from sharing your story:
- Go to the same page ("Settings"> "Privacy"> "Story"). Scroll down where there is a section labeled & # 39; Share & # 39 ;.
- You see an option with the text & # 39; Allow sharing & # 39 ;. If you disable this, people cannot send your stories to others.
- You can also disable "Allow story sharing again" to prevent people from adding your messages to their stories.
- To prevent your stories from being shared with Facebook, switch & # 39; Share your story with Facebook & # 39; from. This means that they only post on Instagram.
Finally, you can use the Friends of Instagram feature to limit the reach of your stories to specific people.
- To set who is in that group of people, go to "Settings"> "Privacy"> "Story"
- Tap Close Friends and start adding people. People are not notified when they are added (or deleted) from this group.
Do not block people from seeing your feed
When it comes to protecting the photos & videos that are posted on your feed, it is much more an all-or-nothing scenario with stories.
If you do not want to go private, you can still block individual users:
- To block someone, you must first go to their account. On their profile page, tap the three-point menu in the upper right corner.
- Click on "Block"
Note: you can also restrict people from this menu. If you limit them, they can still see your content, but their comments are only shown to you and cannot see when you are online.
Make yourself less visible
There are a few things that you can do to make yourself a little harder to find (and give less information about yourself in the process).
First, you can stop sending your contacts with Instagram. You may have initially given Instagram access to your contacts to help your friends find you when you sign up, but it means that Instagram knows who's in your phonebook. To disable it:
- Go to "Settings"> "Account"> "Synchronize contacts"
- Select "Connect contacts"
You can also prevent Instagram from presenting your account to others. This happens when someone follows a new account: Instagram then displays accounts that it thinks are & # 39; similar & # 39; in which you could be grouped. You cannot change this with your mobile app. To disable this:
- Log in to the Instagram website and go to your profile
- Select the "Edit profile" button
- Disable the very last option, "Similar account suggestions"
Finally It's worth checking to see if your Instagram posts appear in a Google search. By default, Instagram does not allow Google to find your photos, but if you have ever registered with a third-party web viewer (and you may have it in the years before Instagram was available on the Internet), the site may have your profile scrapes and make it visible to everyone.
If one or more of your messages do show up in your search, the first step is to get rid of closing third-party apps to your Instagram account. You can do that via the mobile app:
- Go to "Settings"> "Security"> "Apps and websites"> "Active"
- Remove all apps that you no longer use
Protect what people see about you
You can zoom in even further by restricting what is visible to other people in your account.
One big thing you can do is turn off your activity status so that people can't see when you're online. (Please note that if you disable this, you will not be able to see when other people are online.)
- Go to "Settings"> "Privacy"> "Activity Status"
- Disable "View Activity" Status "
You may also want to view tagged photos before they are posted to your profile. If you have a public account, checking each tag can prevent spammers from entering your profile. And if you have a private account, this can prevent your friends from sticking a flattering photo on your profile. To do this:
- Go to "Settings"> "Privacy"> "Tags"
- Select "Approve tags manually"
Stop saving your messages and stories
Maybe you want the photo & # 39; s actually not saving and videos & # 39; s that you post on Instagram, especially your disappearing stories. There are a number of things you can do to stop that.
To prevent your stories from being saved:
- Go to "Settings"> "Privacy"> "Story"
- Disable two settings. The first is "Save to Film Role" (on iOS) or "Save to Gallery" (on Android), which saves your stories on your phone. The second is & # 39; Save to archive & # 39 ;, and if you turn it off, Instagram will no longer be able to view your stories so that you can view them later after they disappear.
If you also want to keep your feed messages within Instagram:
- Go to "Settings"> "Account"> "Original messages"
- Disable all three options (Save original messages, Save posted photos & # 39; s and Save posted videos & # 39; s)
This prevents the messages from being stored locally on your phone, but it also means that your only copy is on Instagram.
Delete personalized ads
Instagram ads are based on websites that you visit and apps that you use. If you want to put an end to this, it is a bit trickier. You should go to Facebook, which owns Instagram.
To disable ad personalization, you must first go to the ad settings of Facebook.
- On the mobile app in the Facebook app, tap the burger menu in the top right corner and then choose "Settings & Privacy"> "Settings"> "Advertising Preferences"> "Advertising Settings"
- click here to go to the page "Go to your ad preferences" and then click "Ad settings" to reveal your options.
- You want to disable the two top options: "Ads based on partner data" and "Ads based on your activity on Facebook corporate products that you see elsewhere." This will prevent Facebook from targeting you based on information it obtains outside of Instagram.
Vox Media has affiliated partnerships. These do not affect editorial content, although Vox Media can earn commissions for products purchased through affiliate links. See our ethical policy for more information.