قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How to record video with two cameras & simultaneously on your iPhone «iOS & iPhone :: Gadgethacks

How to record video with two cameras & simultaneously on your iPhone «iOS & iPhone :: Gadgethacks



The iPhone 11, 11 Pro and 11 Pro Max have introduced a new reversing camera system in the iOS ecosystem. Each model has a new ultra-wide lens in addition to the wide one, and the Pro's have a telephoto lens. Both also have improved selfiecams. With so many lenses, it can be a challenge to choose who you want to film with, but why choose when you can shoot with two at the same time?

Enter & # 39; DoubleTake & # 39; from FiLMiC Inc. in If you recognize that name, you've probably used the paid video recording app FiLMiC Pro. The company was new to the iPhone 11 scene and announced an exciting way to record video from multiple cameras simultaneously before the release of iOS 1

3. It took them about four months to complete the position, but here we are.

Step 1: Install and enable permissions

First and foremost: it is not only for the iPhone 11 series. If you have an iPhone X S X S Max or X R you can also jump on the dual-cam recording. That makes sense because those iPhone models also have the A12 Bionic processor or newer built in to handle the dual recording tasks. Devices with the A11 Bionic chip or older, such as the iPhone X and iPhone 8 Plus, are not supported.

You can install DoubleTake on any iPhone with iOS 13, but unless it is one of the devices listed above, you must install & # 39; ll can only record from one lens at a time.

When you start DoubleTake for the first time, you must grant camera and microphone permissions. Tap each option and then agree to the permissions pop-up window that appears. Tap "Continue" to continue.

Step 2: Choose your lenses

Once you have left the permission screen, you may be a bit confused by what you see because it looks like a normal camera view. Where are the multiple video feeds? Simple: tap the lens icon at the bottom left, choose your lenses.

By default, the "wide" lens must already be selected as your camera "A." Every lens that you mark as "A" is your "main camera" that fills most of the screen. You can deselect the wide lens to choose a different camera A or stay with it for the time being. Depending on the iPhone model you have, you'll see ultra-wide, telephoto and the available selfie lens in addition to the wide lens.

With camera A selected, your next lens selection is Camera "B." Depending on the recording mode that you select later (see the following section), the B lens is on the right side of the screen or appears as an overlay on top of the A entry.

After you take your two camera & # 39; s selected, you can choose a frame rate. Tap the "24 FPS" option in the lower right to choose between 24, 25 or 30 fps. If you are satisfied, tap "Confirm" to go to your new camera lens with two lenses.

Step 3: Select the recording mode

After confirming your lenses, you will see the feeds of both on the screen. However, if you immediately start shooting, you will get two different video files, one for each camera. So if that's not what you want, you have to change the recording mode. You can select a new one using the top right icon.

Discreet

By default, you start DoubleTake for the first time and select your lenses, you get the view of camera B overlay as a small box on top of it full view of camera A. It is called "Discreet" mode and it produces two separate video files as if you were filming each separately.

Because the feed from camera B may be blocking what you should see in A & # 39; s, you can drag the window to another part of the screen. You may want to use the Discrete recording mode if you only want to see a different perspective of the same.

Picture-in-Picture

PiP, which stands for Picture-In-Picture, looks identical to Discreet. However, the final product is what you see on the screen – exactly. Instead of recording two videos, one from each camera, you get one video with camera A with the overlapping window of camera B.

The advantage of recording together as separate videos & # 39; s is most clearly with the selfie lens as camera B, which can show your reactions to everything that happens with one of the rear lenses. Just like with Discrete, you can move the window of camera B to another location on the screen. Unlike Discreet, it is important from a film perspective because wherever you see it on the screen while shooting, it is in the final video.

Split Screen

Split Screen takes every camera feed and dedicates the same screen property for both. As with PiP, this results in one output, not in two different video files. It is useful if you record an interview, because you can give the same space to both your subject and the interviewer behind the camera.

Step 4: Shoot your combined video

If you have ever used video recording app before, you know how to shoot. Tap the shutter release / record button in the lower right to start filming and tap again to stop. While your iPhone is shooting native 4K, you are limited to 1080p with DoubleTake.

When shooting in Discreet or PiP mode, you can tap the Expand button at the top right of camera B to fill the screen. If you want to see it that big, but need to switch back to camera A, you can swipe the video up or down on the screen. Tap the chevron that appears in the feed from camera A to return to the full view of camera B.

To minimize the window of camera B, tap the Minimize button. If you now only want to focus on camera A, you can swipe the window from camera B to one of the four sides of the frame to make it disappear from the screen. Tap the chevron that appears in the feed from camera A to pull it back into the image.

Only know that if you shoot with the PiP mode, all the changes you make to the camera B window during filming will appear in your final product. [19659033] How to record video with two cameras & # 39; s simultaneously on your iPhone ” width=”480″ height=”480″ style=”max-width:532px;height:auto;”/>

While DoubleTake is shooting with automatic focus and exposure, these settings are moved to that area when you tap an area in the image. You can do that for camera A & # 39; s feed in all recording modes and camera B & # 39; s in the split screen only. In the discrete and PiP modes, however, you can extend the window of camera B and refocus it from there.

Step 5: View Clips, Export, and Trash

Once you have shot content, you may be wondering where DoubleTake is actually sending it. You will not find it in your Photo & # 39; s app. Instead, tap the Save icon in the upper-left corner of DoubleTake.

Here you can view all the videos that you have made with DoubleTake. If you have used Discreet, you will find two separate videos for each camera that you have selected. You can tap a video to watch it.

As with FiLMiC Pro, you must tap the checkmark to select clips. bottom left. You can then tap on any number of clips to choose them. After you have selected at least one clip, the other three tools that were gray are available. The movie roll icon saves your selected clips in Photos, the share icon opens the panel, and the trash icon removes your selected clips.

And videos that you do not delete will remain stored in the app, so after exporting you may want to delete them to get a clean one. app because things can get messy quickly.

Don't miss it: Automate focus, zoom and exposure changes in Filmic Pro for smoother pull operations

Cover image, screenshots and GIFs by Jake Peterson / Gadget Hacks

Source link