قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How to Reset Adobe Photoshop Preferences

How to Reset Adobe Photoshop Preferences



Adobe Photoshop logo

If Adobe Photoshop is not working properly, you may be able to fix this by resetting the preferences (settings). There are two ways to do this, and we’ll show you how.

Why reset Photoshop preferences?

While this is an extreme measure, you may want to reset your Photoshop preferences if you̵

7;re struggling with something, or if you’ve made too many adjustments and want to start over with a clean slate.

Keep in mind that resetting your preferences will lose any settings you made to the way Photoshop works.

How to Reset Photoshop Preferences in Photoshop

If Photoshop opens without any problems, use the Preferences menu to reset the app settings. (If it doesn’t open properly, check out the section below).

To do this, open Photoshop on your computer. Then if you are using a Windows PC, click “Edit” in the menu bar and select Preferences> General. If you’re using a Mac, click on “Photoshop” in the menu bar and choose Preferences> General.

Select General from Preferences in the Photoshop window

In the preferences window that appears at the bottom, click “Reset preferences on exit”.

Enable the reset option in Photoshop's preferences menu

Click “OK” in the warning prompt that appears on your screen.

Select OK at the reset prompt in Photoshop

Then click “OK” to close the Preferences window.

You must exit Photoshop to complete the Preferences reset. To do this, use the menu bar and click File> Shut Down (on Windows) or Photoshop> Shut Down (on a Mac).

Select Exit from the Photoshop menu in Photoshop

Restart Photoshop and you will see that your “Preferences” have been reset to default values.

How to reset Photoshop preferences with a keyboard shortcut

If Photoshop doesn’t open or keeps crashing, you can reset your Photoshop preferences with a dedicated keyboard shortcut on Windows and Mac.

First, find the Photoshop shortcut you usually use to open the app. To do this in Windows, open the “Start” menu and search for “Adobe Photoshop”. On Mac, in a Finder window, click Go> Applications in the menu bar, locate and double-click the Photoshop folder and you will see the “Adobe Photoshop” app file.

With the shortcut on the screen, hold down Alt + Ctrl + Shift (on Windows) or Shift + Command + Option (on Mac) while opening the program.

Photoshop in the Applications folder of Mac

When Photoshop opens and asks if you want to delete the settings file, click “Yes”.

Select Yes at the delete prompt in Photoshop

After that, Photoshop will launch with the default settings, as if it had just been installed.

RELATED: Fix Adobe Photoshop CC if it crashes or is slow




Source link