قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How to restore a factory settings from an iPhone, from 11 downwards

How to restore a factory settings from an iPhone, from 11 downwards



Do you want a clean slate to start over with your iPhone? If you have had problems with your iPhone or want to wipe it clean before you sell or pass it on, you need to know how to restore the factory settings. A factory reset essentially removes your device from all personal settings and data that you have collected over the years, including all your messages, photos, music, contacts, calendar entries and all other files. It may seem daunting, but restoring any iPhone to its original factory settings, whether it's an iPhone 11, iPhone XS Max or an iPhone SE, is a simple process that requires little more than your phone and five minutes of your time. [1

9659002] Scroll down for our brief guide for restoring the factory settings of an iPhone. The exact process for doing this may vary slightly depending on the version of iOS running on your iPhone, but it is essentially the same whether you perform a factory reset with iTunes or your unconnected phone. You can also follow the same instructions when you perform a factory reset on one of your iOS devices.

Is your iPhone frozen or not responding? Follow our guide to resetting an iPhone so you can get back to work. Also check out our troubleshooting guide, as there are many steps you can take to troubleshoot problems with your iPhone, even if a factory reset does not resolve your issue.

How to reset an iPhone using iCloud

  restore factory settings from an iPhone

Whether you have an iPhone 11 Pro, iPhone XS, an iPhone 8, an iPhone SE, an iPhone 7 or 7 Plus or an older model, such as the iPhone 4, 4S, 5 or 5S, the easiest way to restore your iPhone to factory defaults is to use iCloud.

Step 1: Prepare your iPhone for recovery

Apple & iCoud nowadays is enabled by default when you log in with your Apple ID. To decide what you want to backup, go to Settings> [Your Name]> iCloud, or go to Settings> iCloud in some older versions of iOS – and enable the items that you would like to make a backup. We recommend that you back up almost everything, but especially your photos, e-mail, contacts, and notes.

Scroll down once you have switched it on and tap iCloud Backup and then switch it on on (if this is not yet) and tap Back up now . Keep in mind that you must be connected to WiFi and that it may take a while to complete the backup.

Consult our guide to using iCloud to back up your iPhone for more detailed instructions.

Alternatively you can use your PC or laptop. Connect your iPhone to your computer via USB and click the gray button Back up now when you view the Summary for your device in iTunes.

Step 2: Open the Reset menu

Tap the main icon Settings when viewing the home screen, select General from the drop-down menu and tap the Reset button at the bottom of the page.

Step 3: Reset your iPhone

Tap the blue option Delete all contents and settings at the top. If you have not made a backup as we suggested, you will be asked to do this. You will then be asked to enter your access code. Tap the red Clear iPhone in the resulting pop-up window to confirm your decision.

Step 4: Restore your iPhone

Once the reset process is complete – a process that takes up to a few minutes – check whether your phone has been reset to its original factory settings. If this is done correctly, you will see the iOS configuration assistant again on startup.

You must log in and completely reset your iPhone after it has been reset to factory settings. The prompts ask you if you want to restore from your iCloud account, set up a completely new phone without your previous settings or iTunes, and use a PC to put your old content back on the phone.

If you & # 39; interested again in what all iPhone Reset options mean, go to the last page of this article. If you want to perform a factory reset with iTunes, read on.

Resetting an iPhone to the factory settings with iTunes (the old way)

  Resetting an iPhone to the factory settings _0012

Performing a factory reset on an iPhone – whether it is a 4S or an iPhone XS Max – is easier when you use iCloud and reset directly from the device, but you can still use Apple's outdated iTunes with a PC. This is useful if you have traditionally used this method and have been an iPhone owner for a long time.

Note that Apple is pulling out iTunes for Mac OS this fall and splitting its functions into various apps. Device synchronization on Mac computers is handled through the Finder, but you can be sure that we will update this guide with the necessary steps when this happens. You can still use iTunes on Windows computers.

Step 1: Prepare your iPhone for restoration

Start iTunes as you normally would. If you are using a Mac, click the iTunes menu on the left side of the main toolbar, and if you use Windows, click the Help menu on the right. Select Check for updates from the drop-down menu and make sure you have the latest version of iTunes. If not, download and install the latest version. Then connect your iPhone to your computer via USB and click on the gray button Backup now when you view the Summary tab for your given device. Or follow our guide on using iCloud to back up the device to Apple's external servers. Although a backup of your device is not required, it will save your photos, apps, contacts, settings, and other data, so you can automatically restore other iOS devices from the backup.

  Screen Shot 2016-05-26 at 14.53.21

If you are using an iPhone 4S or a newer device, you must turn off Find my iPhone . To do this, tap the main icon Settings when viewing the home screen, select iCloud and tap Find my iPhone . Then switch the slider at the top to disable the function if you have not already done so.

Step 2: Restore your iPhone

Once the backup is complete, click on the gray Restore iPhone when viewing the Summary tab for your given device. Click the Restore button in the resulting pop-up window to confirm your decision and when prompted, click Agree to accept the software license agreement and download the required iOS software file before you restore.

Step 3: Verify that the telephone has been restored

After the recovery process has been completed – a process that can take several minutes – check whether your telephone has been restored to its original factory settings. If done correctly, you will see the iOS configuration assistant again at startup, from which you can restore your phone from a backup or continue with the process as if you were resetting it. It is as if it has just returned from the assembly line in China.

What do all those different reset options mean?

When you reset your iPhone, iOS offers you a large number of different options, and it can be confusing to decide which to choose. Normally you want to perform the above factory reset, but here is an explanation of what the other options do so that you can choose the best reset for your needs.

Note: If you sell your phone or turn it over to someone else, the only one who erases everything securely and returns your phone to its original state is to erase all content and settings.

  sell your smartphone iphone reset
Genevieve Poblano / Digital Trends

Reset all settings [19659021] If you choose this option, you will not lose all your data, but you will lose your settings and Wi-Fi passwords. Manual settings will certainly disappear, but you still have your photos, apps, and other content.

Delete all content and settings

This is the option we described at the beginning of this message, which will remove everything from your device. Your settings, images, apps and other data will disappear forever, unless you have backed up your content.

Reset network settings

Sometimes you need to refresh your network settings to establish a better connection. Selecting this option resets your network settings, clears the cache, and deletes temporary files that you have saved on your device. It is great for those who have problems with different WiFi connections.

Reset keyboard dictionary

Sometimes autocorrect can cause more damage than good. If you feel that your iPhone always suggests typos and the wrong words to you based on your previous messages, you can always reset the keyboard dictionary. screen with their favorite apps, sometimes it's nice to change things a bit. If you ever want to go back to the original layout of the home screen that came with your phone, you can choose this reset option.

Resetting location and privacy

Sometimes you can mess things up when you start tapping in the settings. up. If you want to go back to the original privacy and location settings of your phone, this is the reset for you. All other info remains intact.

Editor's recommendations





Source link