قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How to restore a Mac to the factory settings

How to restore a Mac to the factory settings



  macos mojave hands on review app store

Do you fancy a clean slate? If this is the case, you can easily restore the factory settings on your Mac whenever you want. If you do this, all your data and everything you have done on your computer will be erased, making it essentially back to its original state when you first removed it from the box.

This is a great idea if you want to sell your computer using a service such as eBay or Craigslist. After all, no buyer wants a computer with a hard disk full of data from someone else if he himself has great MacOS apps to download.

Looking for more Apple-focused tutorials? Fortunately, we also have manuals for removing apps on a Mac and for backing up your Mac to an external hard drive.

Erase your Mac

Step 1

: Look around again and double check if your Mac is currently connected to the internet, preferably via a wired connection. Erasing your hard drive is easy, but you need a way to access your Mac's factory settings once you have finished erasing. For this you need internet connection . If you delete data on a MacBook of any kind, first connect the power adapter so that there is no risk of the battery running out.

Step 2: When finished, select the Restart … option in the Apple menu and wait patiently for your Mac to shut down. As soon as your computer is restarted, you must simultaneously press the Cmd and R keys simultaneously. Keep holding them until your Mac displays an Apple logo, a spinning globe, or another startup screen. This takes you to MacOS Recovery.

  Disk Utility Mac

Step 3: This should open the Tools & # 39; s panel, where you can make various important and potentially dangerous changes. Select here Disk Utility .

Step 4: Search for your boot disk in the sidebar of Disk Utility. This is called "Macintosh HD" by default, although it is different if you have ever renamed it. There must be another disk under the startup disk with the word & # 39; Data & # 39; at the end. For example, if your startup disk is called "Macintosh HD", you should see another drive named "Macintosh HD – Data". If you don't have a "Data" drive, don't worry – just continue with step 6.

Step 5: Select the data disc and then click Edit > Delete APFS volume in the menu bar or click the minus button on the Disk Utility toolbar. In the resulting window, click Remove to confirm. Make sure that you do not delete Volume Group . If you have other data drives, delete them too, but leave the regular Macintosh HD drive alone.

Step 6: Now it is time to work on that Macintosh HD volume. Select it and then click the Delete button in the top toolbar. Give the disc a name (or stay with Macintosh HD if you want) and then choose a formatting option. You must choose APFS or Mac OS Extended (Journaled) ; Disk Utility specifies the recommended format by default, and you must adhere to it unless you have a specific reason to change it.

Step 7: Click on Delete . You may be asked for your Apple ID info. Now just wait for the drive to be erased, which may take a while. When it's done, you can close Disk Utility to return to the Tools & # 39; s window.

Reinstalling the operating system

Now that you have erased everything, you must restore the operating system. After you close Disk Utility you should see an option to reinstall MacOS . Select this, confirm that you really want to do it and continue. You may need to click through a few confirmations and enter your password before the installation is ready to begin.

  Reinstall MacOS

Because Apple stores all factory-set data on its own servers, your computer must be connected to the Internet to continue. Once connected, your Mac can search for the original source material and download a new, off-the-line version of all its settings.

Note: This download solution only works with newer versions of MacOS. This should not be a problem for modern devices – all of which are designed to download factory settings from the Internet – but if you work with Snow Leopard or an earlier version of MacOS, you cannot reinstall them from the Internet. For this you need the original MacOS installation disc that came with your computer, so get ready to dig it out if necessary.

Also when you reinstall MacOS, you will see an installation assistant who will ask you basic questions about your region and so on. If you are planning to sell or give away your Mac, you want to leave the installation assistant undisturbed. Instead, hold down the Command and Q keys to close the setup assistant, and then click on Exit . This will turn off your Mac and keep the installation assistant waiting for the new owner.

Alternative: Overwrite Installation

If you wish, you can fully reinstall a version of MacOS without permanently erasing your previous data. See this as the "lite" version of a complete wipe. You don't need to erase your drive if you just want to start over and don't plan to give your Mac to another person.

  MacOS Mojave 10.14

This option is useful if you have a lot of corrupted data, a malware problem that you cannot isolate, or a bug that plagues your computer due to an incorrect update. However, this process can leave data that is relatively easy to recover – meaning that it is not a good idea to use this method when you sell or give away your Mac. If you nevertheless intend to continue with the procedure, follow the steps below. As always, ensure that all data and documents that you do not want to lose are backed up.

Step 1: Shut down your Mac and restart it as you normally would. Immediately after turning on your computer, hold down the Command and R keys and release the keys when you see the Apple logo. This opens the Utility & # 39; s window in MacOS Recovery.

Step 2 : skip the delete option and go directly to Reinstall MacOS . Confirm that you want to reinstall the operating system, which will install the latest version of the operating system that was previously installed on your computer. However, keep in mind that you still need to back up the data that you want to save.

Alternative: Time Machine

If you are already using Time Machine to save backups of your data, you can also use it to restore a specific version of your Mac. This is useful if you prefer to restore certain settings and data instead of your entire operating system – perhaps in an attempt to save data while dealing with a bug or a similar problem.

Step 1: Close your Mac and restart it as you normally would. Immediately after turning on your Mac, hold down the Command and R keys and release the keys when you see the Apple logo. This opens the Utility & # 39; s window in MacOS Recovery.

Step 2: Now, instead of choosing the option Reinstall choose Restore Time Machine Backup . Please note that if you have saved your backup on an external hard drive or server, your Mac must be connected to that device to perform the full restoration.

Authorization of your devices in Apple Music, iCloud and messages [19459014ongedaanmaken]

If you intend to sell or give away your computer to another user, you must also ensure that you have both your Mac if all connected devices are fully authorized before you restore your Mac to its original factory settings. This helps prevent anyone from accessing your personal information in the future.

Apple Music: Start Apple Music and click on Account in the menu bar. Move over authorizations and then click Authorization of this computer . Apple Music will now remove that specific device from the list of authorized devices. You no longer have access to all your Apple Music content from your machine, but nobody else either.

  How to Authorize Your Mac in Apple Music

iCloud: It is not enough to just log out at iCloud – you must also ensure that no local data is left on your computer. To do this, select System Preferences in the Apple menu and click on the Apple ID icon in the resulting window. Then click in the left column on Overview and then on Log out . Click on it and MacOS will then ask you if you want to keep your current iCloud data on your Mac. Because you don't do that, just clear the check boxes for everything you want to remove .

  Log out of iCloud on a Mac

Messages: Do you want to keep your messages private, which means you have to log out of the Messages app on your Mac. This synchronizes your messages between your iPhone and Mac, so its authorization is of course very important!

  Log out of Messages on a Mac

Fortunately, it's easy to do. Open the Messages app and then click on Messages> Preferences in the menu bar. From here, click the iMessage tab and click Logout .

Remember that backing up your data is always a good idea, especially for a big move like this. Here's how to back up your data to an external drive and how to back up data with iCloud.

Editor's recommendations





Source link