Apple’s “Find My” network allows Apple device owners to locate AirTags and other lost devices thanks to hundreds of millions of Apple devices already in the world. Although the network is anonymous and encrypted, you can still log out on your iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch or Mac. Here̵
But first: why you probably shouldn’t log out
Apple’s Find My network is a crowdsourced system of hundreds of millions of Apple devices connected via the Internet that allows people to locate AirTags and other lost or stolen Apple devices. It uses the combined power of any Apple device’s Bluetooth sensors to detect nearby iPhones, iPads, iPod Touches, AirTags, AirPods, Apple Watches and Macs. When a local Apple device on the network detects a lost Apple device nearby, it reports its approximate location back to the owner of the device.
Thanks to end-to-end encryption and data anonymization techniques, no personally identifiable information is shared with anyone when you use the Find My network, so it’s not a privacy concern, according to Apple. In fact, neither Apple nor third parties can access the location of your devices – only the person looking for the lost device can see the location of the lost item.
That said, you are still in control of your own device, and if you want to opt out of the Find My network, here’s how.
Warning: If you opt out of Find My Network on a device, you also specify the ability to use the network to locate your device if it is lost. However, you can still use the traditional “Find My” service, which relies on Wi-Fi and cellular signals to work.
Disable Find My Network on iPhone, iPad and iPod Touch
To turn off Find My Network on your iPhone, iPad or iPod Touch, first open Settings.
In Settings, tap your Apple ID name.
In the Apple ID settings, tap Find My.
Then you will see the “Find My” settings screen. Tap “Find My iPad”, “Find My iPod Touch” or “Find My iPhone” depending on your device.
Then tap the switch next to “Find My Network” to turn it off.
When you flip the switch, you’ll see a warning pop up. Tap on ‘Disable’.
And that’s it. Your iPhone, iPad or iPod Touch is no longer part of the Find My network. If you ever lose it and need to find it, you should rely on the regular Find My service.
RELATED: Track, disable and erase a lost iPhone, iPad or Mac
How to Disable Find My Network on Mac
To turn off Find My Network on your Mac, first open System Preferences by clicking the Apple icon in your menu bar and selecting System Preferences.
In System Preferences, click Apple ID.
In Apple ID Preferences, click iCloud in the sidebar, then scroll down through Apps on This Mac with iCloud and find Find My Mac. If it is enabled, click on the “Options” button next to it.
(If “Find My Mac” is not enabled, Find My Network is already disabled on your Mac.)
In the pop-up menu that appears, click the ‘Disable’ button next to ‘Find My Network: On’. (If the ‘Find My Network’ option says ‘Off’, it is already turned off.)
When a warning popup appears, click on ‘Disable’. Then click “Done” and close System Preferences.
Then you are done. Your Mac is no longer part of the Find My network. If you need to find it in the future, you will have to rely on a Wi-Fi connection through the traditional “Find My Mac” service. Stay safe there!
RELATED: What to do if your Mac is stolen