قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How to use Telegram without sharing your contacts

How to use Telegram without sharing your contacts



Khamosh pathak

Although Telegram has a phone number-based authentication system, you can easily use the app without sharing your contacts. With Telegram you can still add users and others can find you with your username.

By default, Telegram synchronizes your contacts with its servers. When a new contact joins you, you will be notified. Your contact will also know that you are using Telegram.

If you want to keep your identity private, you can stop the sync contacts feature. Telegram will continue to work. You can add users with their username, or you can create a separate contact in the Telegram app.

Here̵

7;s how it works on the Telegram app for Android and iPhone.

Stop sharing contacts in Telegram on Android

You can stop syncing contacts in Telegram for Android from the Settings menu. To start, open the Telegram app on your Android smartphone and tap the three-line menu icon in the top left corner.

Select the option “Settings” here.

Go to the option “Privacy and security”.

Tap the switch next to the “Sync contacts” option.

Now Telegram will stop syncing new contacts, but the contacts that have already been synced will still be available in Telegram app.

To delete app-synced contacts, tap the “Delete Synced Contacts” button.

In the pop-up message, select the “Delete” button to confirm.

Telegram has now deleted all contacts from your in-app contact book. If you go to the “Contacts” section, it will be empty.

Stop sharing contacts in Telegram on iPhone

The process to turn off contact sync is slightly different in Telegram app for iPhone.

Open the Telegram app on your iPhone and go to the “Settings” tab.

Navigate to the “Privacy and Security” section.

Scroll down and choose the “Data Settings” option.

Enable the “Sync contacts” option to turn off the contact sync function.

Telegram will now stop uploading your local contact book with its servers.

To delete all synchronized contacts, tap the option “Delete Synced Contacts”.

Tap Delete Synced Contacts in Telegram for iPhone

In the pop-up message, select the “Delete” button to confirm.

Now if you go to the “Contacts” tab in Telegram, you will see that it is empty.


Did you know Telegram doesn’t have end-to-end encryption enabled for all chats? For that you have to start a secret chat separately.

RELATED: How to start an encrypted secret chat in Telegram




Source link