Find My is an Apple app and service that lets you find and track the location of iOS, iPadOS, MacOS, WatchOS devices and AirPods, as well as find and follow family or friends. It replaces and complements the previous Find My iPhone and Find My Friends apps. Find My debut with iOS 13 and iPadOS 13 and macOS 10.15 Catalina. This recovery tool is part of iCloud and uses the GPS and internet connection of your device to map the location.
Find My helps find a missing, offline or sleeping device by sending Bluetooth signals that can be detected by other Apple devices nearby, which can then reveal the location of your device to iCloud and let you search with Find My. Logging in to a new device with your Apple ID automatically turns on the Find My app. Activation lock, which prevents a stranger from using or selling your lost device, is automatically enabled when you enable Find My. You will then need your Apple ID and password to delete or reactivate it. Apple receives encrypted location information when you actively locate your device, mark it as lost, or enable Send Last Location. It is stored for a maximum of 24 hours.
Find My offers three separate tabs for finding people or devices or sharing your own location, with each tab assigning the subject of your search to their current locations. Proceed as follows.
- Start Settings and choose your Apple ID.
- Choose Search My and enable it.
- Enable offline search to view your device.
- To have the location of your device sent to Apple when the battery is low, check Send last location.
- If your Apple Watch and your AirPods are paired with your device, they will be set automatically when you turn on Find My.
find your iPhone or other Apple device
The essence of Find My is to help you find iPhones, iPads and watches that you have lost, lost or stolen. The Find My function works with Location Services, so first of all, tap Settings> Privacy> Location Services and enable the control. You can use Find My to have your device display an alarm sound even if it was in silent mode the last time you used it. You can also set a notification for when Find My locates your device ̵
If you indicate that it has been lost, your device will be locked. For this you need your password to view the content. If your phone is offline, it will be locked when you switch it on and you will receive an email notification to track the location of your phone. If you set Find My for this, your phone number and message can be displayed on the locked device so that anyone who finds it can report it and even send it back to you. You can also remotely erase your device so that no finder can enter your private life, photos, emails or other documentation. If you had credit, debit or prepaid cards on Apple Pay, Lost Mode suspends this feature so that nobody can charge you for your account. To set up Find My to process a lost device, follow these steps.
- Start the Find My app.
- Tap the Devices tab to see where all your devices are on a map.
- Tap the device that you are missing.
- Swipe up and tap one of the following buttons:
- Play sound: Your device emits a warning signal. (Do not wear AirPods, because the sound is loud and penetrating.)
Directions: Maps give you directions to where your device is located.
Notifications: Tap if you are looking for your device and want to receive a notification if someone finds it.
Mark as lost: Tapping Activate marks your device as lost.
- If you have marked the device as lost, tap Continue . You can enter your phone number or type a message for the person who finds your device so that they can inform you and send the device back to you.
- Start Find my on your iPhone or iPad to delete a device remotely.
- Tap the Devices tab and then the device that you want to delete.
- Swipe up and tap Delete this device.
- You can also enter your telephone number or message.  When you delete a device, all information, including credit cards, debit cards or prepaid cards for Apple Pay, is deleted and you can no longer find it with the Find my app or Find iPhone on iCloud.com. If you delete the device from your account after you delete it, the activation lock will be disabled so that another person can use your device. Back up your iPhone regularly in iCloud, in case you ever need to restore deleted data to an old or new phone.
Share your location
With the new consolidated Find my app in iOS 13 you can share your current location with friends and family. When you first launch the app, you will be asked to enable Location Services and choose when the app can use your location: Allow while using the app, Allow once or Do not allow. Allow while using app is the preferred and most restricted use, so the same prompt reappears every time you open Find My on your device. You can change this by going to Settings> Privacy> Location services .
- Tap Me at the bottom right of the screen.
- Enable Share my location.
- Select the device whose location you want to share. With multiple devices you can only select one at a time.
- When you share your location via an iPhone linked to an Apple Watch GPS, your location switches to the watch when it is out of range of the iPhone.
- You can easily disable this option if you want your location to be private.
Sharing a location requires permission, so even if you share your location, this does not mean that the person with whom you share is reciprocal.
Finding family and friends
With iOS 13, you can use the Find my app to find friends or family members, replacing the previous Find my friends app in earlier iOS versions. To choose which contacts you want to find, you must first share your location with them. To see the location of a friend, they must invite you via the Find my app on their device. Here's how to do it.
- Tap the tab People at the bottom left in Find My and tap the Share location . Find my suggests contacts to share the location, but you can invite anyone.
- Share your location for the following intervals: one hour, end of the day or indefinitely.
- View information under the name of your contact person and request permission to follow their location.
- If they approve your request, their location will be displayed on your map. If you want, you can now stop sharing your own location.
- Apple designed the Find My app to automatically refresh locations from minute to minute for both people and devices, but if that doesn't work, tap the name of the person or device to reveal their map and their location refresh, or close the app and restart it.
Find mine is a deep app that focuses on locating and tracking both people and devices. Using it provides the best way to find a missing device and take action if you think the device has fallen into the wrong hands. It is also a good way to ensure that you keep track of friends or loved ones while traveling or during a daily routine. But you must set it up on all your devices before an emergency occurs to help you optimally.