قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How you can automatically delete your YouTube history

How you can automatically delete your YouTube history



  YouTube logo

Google now offers a tool that automatically removes your search and activity history from YouTube. By default, your data is stored forever, but it can be deleted from Google's servers every 3 or 18 months.

Similar automatic deletion settings are available for your location history and your & # 39; Web and app history & # 39 ;. These spikes are not just privacy settings. If you choose to regularly clear your history, it means that Google will not use that deleted YouTube history to personalize your video recommendations.

Automatically delete history from the YouTube mobile app

You can automatically set history deletion directly from your smartphone or tablet. This is useful because more than 50 percent of all YouTube viewers are done via the mobile apps of the video service.

To start, open the app & # 39; YouTube & # 39; on your device. If you can't find it on your home screen or app drawer, iPhone and iPad owners can use Apple's Spotlight search to find the app, and Android users can use the Google search bar.

 Select YouTUbe Mobile App

Then tap the avatar of your account in the upper right corner of the app.

 Select Avatar in the upper right corner in the YouTube mobile app

Scroll down to the list and select the "Settings" option.

 Select Settings in YouTube Mobile App

Scroll down to the "History and Privacy" section. Select the "Manage all activity" option.

 Select Manage All Activity in the YouTube Mobile App

You are now on the YouTube History page. Tap "Choose to remove automatically", just above the list of previously viewed YouTube videos & # 39; s.

(Don't want to save history at all? You can tap "Change Settings" under YouTube History is turned on to stop YouTube from tracking a history of videos you've watched and searches you've made. )

 Select Choose to automatically remove in the YouTube mobile app

Now choose how long you want to keep your YouTube history. By default, your history is only deleted if you do this manually. You can change this setting so that YouTube automatically removes history that is older than 18 months or three months.

After making a selection, tap the "Next" button.

 Choose how long YouTube history remains mobile App and then select Next

The YouTube Activity History page explains what your decision means. It also contains a number of examples of video history that are automatically deleted.

 Read your preferred choice in the mobile YouTube app

Tap "Confirm" to save the automatic YouTube history setting. [19659003]   Tap Confirm in the YouTube mobile app

Automatically delete history from My Google Activity

Go to the YouTube History website to automatically delete your YouTube history from your desktop or mobile browser. Make sure you are signed in to the Google account associated with your YouTube account.

You can also go to the "My Google Activity" website and manually navigate to the YouTube History section.

 My Google Activity Landing Page

If you jumped directly to the YouTube History website, skip the following two steps. Continue to follow these instructions if you have visited the My Google activity website.

Click on the "Activity controls" option in the navigation menu on the left side of the page.

Note: Click the hamburger menu icon in the upper left corner to expand the side menu if it is hidden.

 My Google Activity Click Activity Control

Scroll down to the "YouTube History" block and select "Manage Activity".

(Don't want to save history at all? You can disable the "YouTube history" option here to prevent YouTube from saving a history, or simply disable "The YouTube videos & # 39; s you're viewing" or "Include your searches on YouTube" to prevent YouTube keeps your watch and search history in the first place.)

 My Google Activity Click Manage Activity

On the YouTube History website, click "Choose Auto Delete" loc ated in the box that indicates how often the history data is deleted.

 My Google Activity Click Choose to delete automatically

You can choose how long you want to keep your YouTube history. By default, your history is only deleted if you do this manually. You can change this setting so that YouTube automatically removes history that is older than 18 months or three months.

After making a selection, tap the "Next" button.

 My Google Activity Choose YouTube History Period Click Next

You will now be asked to confirm your selection. YouTube also provides examples of some videos that are deleted from your history.

Click the "Confirm" button to save the automatic YouTube history setting.

 My Google Activity Click Confirm [19659003] In the future, it would be nice if YouTube would add an option to adjust the amount of time before history is automatically deleted or a daily limit is added. In the meantime, you can always go back to the YouTube history page and wipe the slate manually.

RELATED: Google announces Maps incognito mode and more privacy controls


Source link