قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / Share folders, files and documents on Google Drive

Share folders, files and documents on Google Drive



Google Drive logo

Google Drive lets you share documents, spreadsheets, and presentations with up to 100 people at once with just a link. Here’s how to do it.

Share folders, files and documents on Google Drive

With Google Drive, you can share files directly via an email address, or you can simply copy the invite link and share it on the web. The sharing process is the same whether you̵

7;re sharing a single document or a folder full of files.

Every document in Google Drive is private by default, but when you view a Google Doc (Documents, Sheets, or Slides), you’ll see a large “Share” button in the top right corner.

Click

You can also share any file or folder in Google Drive’s file browser interface by right-clicking the file and selecting “Share” from the menu that appears.

Click

Google’s share menu splits itself into two parts. If you want to add someone with their email address, use the ‘Share with people and groups’ section in the top half.

In the “Add people and groups” box, find a person from your address book and add them (or just use their email address).

Select

You can add up to 100 people or contacts here. Then choose their role from the drop-down list next to each person you’ve added. Here’s what these options do:

  • Editor: Allows the person to view, comment, and edit the content of the document (use this option for document contributors).
  • commentator: The person can view the content and add comments.
  • viewer: The person can only view the content. They cannot edit or comment on it.

Make sure the “Notify people” option is enabled. This way they get an email about the document when you share it. If desired, add an optional note and then click the “Send” button to send the invitation.

Define the role for the user and click

To copy a link that you can share with anyone on the web, go to the “Get Link” section of the Share menu and click “Change to anyone with the link.”

Click on the

When the menu changes, use the drop-down menu to choose the access level for users you share the link with. By default, the link only allows the user to view the file, but you can also change its status to “Reply” or “Editor”.

Define the role for users with link sharing.

Then click the “Copy Link” button (located next to the link box) to copy the link to your clipboard, then click the “Done” button to go back to the file or document.

Click

You can now share the link with anyone you know over the internet.

Warning: Be careful sharing the link. Anyone with this link can see (or edit, depending on the settings you’ve chosen) the contents of the document.

How to stop sharing folders, files and documents on Google Drive

Google’s document and file sharing features are great, but there will be times when you’ll want to stop sharing the document or folder or revoke access for some users. Google Drive makes this process easy.

First, click the “Share” button in the document toolbar. Then right-click on the file in Google Drive and select “Share.”

Click on the

The top section lists all users who have access to the document and their roles. Click the “Roles” drop-down list and select the “Delete” button to delete the user. They no longer have access to the file or folder.

From the Share menu, select the role for the user you want to remove and click the

If you were using the link sharing feature and want to disable it, click “Share” in your document and look at the “Get Link” section at the bottom. Click the “Anyone with a link” dropdown and switch to the “Restricted” option.

Click

Now only the users added via email can access the file or folder. The rest have no access to the data.

After you are done making the changes, click the “Done” button.

After link sharing is disabled, click the

Once all users are removed and link sharing is turned off, the file or folder will become private again.




Source link