Spotify introduces a new feature called Group Sessions for all Premium subscribers. It allows two or more Spotify users to share control of a listening session without taking a phone across the room. Group session participants can control song playback in real time, add songs to a queue, or contribute to a group playlist.
Group listening is safe and easy to set up. Just open the & # 39; Connect to a device & # 39; from Spotify in the bottom left corner of the playback window and press & # 39; Connect with friends & # 39 ;. A small window with a code will appear, along with the option to pull up your camera and scan a friend's code. The Group Lockout session ends after an hour of inactivity or after you disable Group Listening from the "Connect to a Device" tab.
Unfortunately, Group Listening is only available to Premium customers. For example, you cannot share controls with a Spotify Free user. That said, the app doesn't seem to limit the number of users who can join a Group Listening session, although I'm not sure why you want to share the music controls with more than four or five people.
The Group Session feature was initially leaked in May 201
Spotify expects to adjust and update the group listening over time, and may add a method to share music with distant friends in the future (meanwhile you can DJ digitally & with friends via the JQBX website). Group listening may not appear in your Spotify app yet as it is still being rolled out to Premium users.
Source: Spotify via TechCrunch