قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / What is 1Password’s travel mode and how do you set it up?

What is 1Password’s travel mode and how do you set it up?



With 1Password you can remove some vaults from your devices

With one of our favorite password managers, 1Password, you can temporarily delete certain account information from all your devices. This feature is called “Travel Mode” and is incredibly useful if you are concerned about unauthorized account access while traveling.

Travel mode allows you to quickly choose which passwords to keep on your devices when you are on the go. Once you̵

7;ve turned on travel mode, 1Password will only keep the credentials you choose and delete everything else from all of your devices. If one of your devices is stolen or opened against your will, Travel Mode ensures that only some of your accounts are hacked.

Travel mode is also available as a feature in 1Password for Teams. This means that if you use 1Password for work, you can control which passwords employees can use to travel.

This mode is only available for 1Password subscription accounts. If you have purchased a one-time license for 1Password for Mac or Windows, you cannot use this feature. That said, a vast majority of 1Password’s users are now part of the subscription plans, so this limitation will only affect a very small number of people.

RELATED: I switched from LastPass to 1Password (and I should)

You cannot access Travel Mode from 1Password’s apps, but it can be enabled by logging into your account on 1Password’s website. Before doing that, make sure your 1Password data is neatly organized in different vaults. This makes it easier to mark certain passwords as safe for travel. Here’s what to do.

Visit the 1Password website and click the “Sign Up” button in the top right corner.

Log in to 1Password.com

Enter your email address, secret key and password. Then click on ‘Register’.

1Password's login screen

Then select the “New Vault” button at the top of the screen.

Click New Vault

Label the new vault and click ‘Create Vault’.

Click Create Vault

Go to the account information you want to access on the go. Go through them one by one and click the share icon for each.

Click the Share icon

Select ‘Move / Copy’.

Click Move / Copy

Click “Copy” next to the new vault you just created.

Click on Copy

This copies these passwords to the new vault. Now you can mark this safe as safe to travel.

Now go to your 1Password homepage and click on the gear icon below the name of the vault.

Click the gear icon next to the safe

In the left pane, toggle the switch next to Safe for Travel. After this, the items stored in this safe will not be erased when you enable Travel mode.

Mark the safe as Safe for travel

Speaking of which, let’s go ahead and enable travel mode now. Click on your name in the top right corner and select ‘My Profile’.

Click on your name and then click on My Profile

Click the switch next to “Travel Mode” to turn it on.

Enable travel mode

Now open and unlock 1Password on all your devices while connected to the Internet. 1Password will automatically erase everything (but only from your device) outside of the safe marked as safe for travel.

1Password’s apps do not reveal whether travel mode is on, so if someone opens 1Password without your permission, they won’t be able to tell if travel mode is on. The only way to find out is to log in to the 1Password website, which requires an extra secret key in addition to your master password.


If you like such features, consider switching from LastPass to 1Password.

RELATED: Transfer LastPass Passwords to 1Password




Source link