قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / Why your iPhone keeps asking about the use of the background location

Why your iPhone keeps asking about the use of the background location



  A background location message with a map on an iPhone with iOS 13.

You have probably seen many messages in recent months about apps that use your location in the background on your iPhone. It's not you alone, it's a change designed to show how much location data you share with apps.

This change works to increase privacy: since the launch of iOS 1

3, marketers are collecting 68% less background location data. That's what Location Sciences, a location-based advertising company, told Fast Company at the end of January 2020.

Background location access in iOS 13

If you had installed these apps before iOS 13 and had given them access to your background monitor, those apps already had access to your location before the update. That has not changed – the only change is that your iPhone warns you about this.

For example, a weather app can use your location to show nearby forecasts. A map app can use your background location to determine where you have parked. And yes, many apps have recorded this location data and sent it to marketers for advertising purposes.

Starting with iOS 13, released in September 2019, location sharing is less silent. With an older version of iOS you can give an app the ability to always view and forget your location. iOS 13 will not let you forget. Pop-ups appear regularly with the message "[App] has used your location [number of] in the background for the past [number of] times. Do you want to continue to allow the background location to be used?"

To the home point to hammer, iOS shows a map of the locations that the app has received from your phone or tablet, and Apple tries to show how much access you give this app.

When you see this prompt, you can press & # 39; Only change during use & # 39; and the app only gets access to your location when you open and use it, or you tap "Always allow" and agree to continued access to the background location.

 A background location usage warning for Dark Sky on the home screen of an iPhone.

How do you disable the location warning? [19659005] If you trust an app such as your favorite weather or map application, you may want to follow the instructions for using the backlight. turn off site location. Unfortunately, there is no "don't ask me anymore" option. iOS 13 keeps asking you about the apps that use your location in the background unless you change on & # 39; ticks. iOS does not warn you about apps that only have access to your location while you use them.

The good news is that we have noticed that these indications become less frequent over time. In other words, if you keep telling your iPhone or iPad that you don't mind getting location access to an app, it's not often asked.

Enabling access to background location has become more difficult, also

  The search query My app asks for location access on an iPhone with iOS 13.
Konstantin Savusia / Shutterstock.com

Apple has made another change to iOS 13 that made access to the background location more complicated. Apps can no longer ask you to access your background location with a pop-up when you open them. You can select "Allow while using app", "Allow once" or "Do not allow" in the pop-up, but that is all.

That "Allow once" option is also new in iOS 13: you can now only give an app access to your location once and it will have to request location access again in the future.

To give an app access to your background location, go to Settings> Privacy> Location Services> [App Name] and select "Always". Apps should ask you to do this instead of prompting to request access.

 The location access options for Dark Sky in the settings of iOS 13.

Apple tries to prevent people from quickly agreeing to share their location without the seriousness of the data they offer to realize. You should do your best to allow access to the background location in a special way, just like when you give "full access" to a third-party keyboard or activate a third-party password manager.

RELATED: How iPhone apps always ask for location access

Do you have to allow background location access?

Whether you "Always allow" Access is a choice that you must make yourself depending on how much you trust the app and what you use it for.

Apps can display a short message at this prompt that explains why they use your location access. For example, your weather app may say that the location is used to provide weather that always applies to your current location. Different types of apps have different reasons to request your location.

If you disable location access while not using an app, you will lose access to some functions of the app that depend on the background performance. For example, with Tile you can track your lost items, even if they are out of range of your phone. It does that by using the Tile app on other Tile users' phones to find nearby Tile trackers and share their physical location with the Tile servers. Tile cannot do this without access to the background location.

Some developers call these changes anti-competitive

These changes are a reason why Tile and other developers claim that these changes & # 39; anti-competitive & # 39; because they interfere with apps that rely on background location tracking always enabled. It is more complicated for users to enable location access in the background for an app such as Tile, and iOS 13 will continue to ask for warning messages asking if users really want to share their locations if they do. and it would be nice if there was a way to tell iOS to "don't ask me again" – but the changes to iOS 13 have helped many people gain more control over sharing their location.

RELATED: [19659023] Just updated to iOS 13? Now change these eight settings


Source link