قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / Wipe and reset your iPhone to factory settings before selling or recycling it

Wipe and reset your iPhone to factory settings before selling or recycling it



  iphone-11-pro-max-5

Do you want to lose your old iPhone? Make sure to reset it correctly.


Oscar Gutierrez / CNET

There are many reasons to say goodbye to your old phone. Whether you upgrade to the latest shiny new iPhone that trades in to save some money by selling it to a random stranger or repurposing it . However, part of the parting should also include the deletion of all your personal information.

Before you can even think of giving your phone to someone else, take a moment to wipe and do a factory reset. Doing so will ensure that no one can access the wealth of personal information we all store on our phones.

  http://www.cnet.com/ "height =" 110 "width =" 196


Now Playing:
Watch this:

iPhone SE: 5 Cinematic Camera Tricks



7:54

Stop! You must backup your iPhone

Before resetting your iPhone, you must create a backup that you can return to if you miss contacts or photos on your new phone. You can backup your iPhone by connecting it to your Mac and by following these steps or using iTunes on a PC to back it up.

You can also use iCloud to backup your phone by going to Settings > tap your name at the top of the page> iCloud > iCloud backup > Back up now . This backup method will take a while depending on how long it has been since you backed up your phone, but it's dead simple.

You must keep your iPhone connected to a Wi-Fi network and a charger to prevent the backup from draining the battery.

  apple-iphone-11-pro-1 "data-original =" https://cnet2.cbsistatic.com/img/dtlDk0Faw1A7x8O_SpYDusueKik=/2019/11/22/7849135f-1263-4564-af77-7e256d017b19/apple -iphone-11-pro-1.jpg

Back up your iPhone before doing anything else.


Angela Lang / CNET

After the backup is complete, here are a few more things you need to do:

  • sign out of apps and services. Go through every app and service where you are logged in and log out.
  • Remove all email accounts from your device in Settings > Passwords and Accounts .
  • If you haven't already, remove your SIM card . If your new phone came with a new SIM card, destroy your old one and throw it away. If you use an e-SIM card, make sure to remove or deactivate it.
  factory-reset-iphone "data-original =" https://cnet1.cbsistatic.com/img/yarVaVuLAl7yFVnsI2JgGAzTHh0=/2020/05/12/1cfaefd4-edb8-47ee-a7f1-4f61e955c5eb/factory-reset-iphone .jpg

Resetting your iPhone takes just a few taps.


Screenshot by Jason Cipriani / CNET

Okay, now you can reset your iPhone

With your phone backed up and all your accounts deleted, factory reset by following these steps:

1. Open the app Settings .

2. Select General .

3. Scroll down and select Reset .

4. Select Clear all content and settings .

You must enter your phone PIN and your Apple ID password to remove the phone from your account. Before, you had to disable Find My iPhone ( now called Find My ) before you could reset your phone. However, now Apple will ask you for your Apple ID password during the reset process so that Find My can be disabled for you.

After entering your password, the screen goes dark and the Apple logo and progress bar are displayed. A few minutes later you will be greeted with a screen with "Hello" in different languages ​​flashing on it, indicating that the reset was successful.

Now that your phone has been wiped clean and is ready for a new owner, you can send it on the road with confidence.

As for your new phone, here are some settings you need to change right away along with some hidden features in iOS 13 that are worth checking out . Are you still trying to figure out what to do with your old phone? Think about these ideas .


Source link